Housing Resources

COVID-19 Information/Resources

The COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act- SB91 (Act) was signed into law on January 29, 2021. The Act extends eviction protections to COVID-19 impacted tenants and establishes the state's Emergency Rental Assistance Program (ERAP). The ERA program began taking applications in Mid-March 2021.

 

Fresh Start Housing Program

Rental assistance program available to San Joaquin residents moving into housing.

 San Joaquin County Fresh Start Housing Program

To learn more about eligibility and to apply, visit the San Joaquin County Human Services Agency online. For questions or to request an application by mail, call (209) 468-3700 or email aginginfo@sjgov.org.

 

California Mortgage Relief

Mortgage assistance is being offered through the State of California Housing is Key Initiative. The California Mortgage Relief Program uses federal Homeowner Assistance Funds to help homeowners get caught up on housing payments.  This program is free and funds do not have to be paid back.

  • Open to all eligible Californians who are experiencing pandemic-related hardships and have fallen behind on housing payments.
  • Faced a pandemic-related financial hardship after January 21, 2020, and at least one of the following:
    • Receiving public assistance;
    • Severely housing burdened; or
    • Have no alternative mortgage workout options through your mortgage servicer.
  • Must be at or below 100% of San Joaquin County’s Area Median (Household) Income, own a single-family home, condo, or permanently affixed manufactured home. (See table below)

To learn more about eligibility, program requirements, and other qualifications, or fill out an application, please visit the Housing is Key website or call 1-800-569-4287.

 

Household Area Median Income (AMI)

San Joaquin County - Effective December 31, 2021

 

Household Size

(Number of Persons 

to Reside in Home)

San Joaquin County Household Median Income

Maximum Allowable Gross Annual Income

(Per Household) 

  100% to 120% of AMI 50% to 80% of AMI 30% to 50% of AMI 15% to 30% of AMI 0% to 15% of AMI
1 $63,000 $52,500 $26,250 $15,750 $7,850
2 $72,000 $60,000 $30,000 $18,000 $9,000
3 $81,000 $67,500 $33,750 $21,960 $10,150
4 $90,000 $75,000 $37,500 $26,500 $11,250
5 $97,200 $81,000 $40,500 $31,040 $12,150

6

$104,400 $87,000 $43,500 $35,580 $13,050
7 $111,600 $93,000 $46,500 $40,120 $13,950
8 $118,800 $99,000 $49,500 $44,660 $14,850

 

UPDATE: Eviction Moratorium Extended through September 30, 2021

Assembly Bill (AB) 832 extended the tenant protections included in the Tenant, Homeowner, and Small Landlord Relief and Stabilization Act of 2020 (AB 3088) to September 30, 2021. These tenant protections were originally set to expire on June 30, 2021. However, AB (832) will extend the eviction moratorium and increase the rental arrears and utility reimbursement payments to 100% for both tenants and landlords.

Updated Emergency Rental Assistance Program Guidelines

  • State Moratorium extended to September 30, 2021.
  • Available for households with incomes at or below 80 percent of Area Median Income, with a priority on helping households at or below 50 percent of Area Median Income, as well as households unemployed for the preceding 90 days at the time of application.
  • Prioritizes the payment of rental arrearages.
  • Landlords and tenants can still apply for relief valued at 100 percent of unpaid back rent from April 1, 2020, through June 30, 2021.
  • Qualified tenants will also be able to access funds to cover 100 percent of prospective (future) rent for the months of July, August, and September of 2021 until funds are exhausted.
  • Utility arrearages are also eligible to be paid until funds are exhausted.
  • Prevents evictions from nonpayment of rent by tenants experiencing COVID-19 hardship.
  • Available to any tenant who attests under penalty of perjury that he/she has not been able to pay full rent due to COVID-19-related circumstances.
  • Allows for ERAP to cover 100% of the rent owed for eligible households since April 2020.
  • Landlords may still proceed with certain other types of “just cause” evictions unrelated to a tenant’s failure to pay rent.
  • Tenants: if eviction prevention assistance is needed, contact CRLA OR San Joaquin Fair Housing.
  • The program has extended the application deadline.
  • The State will directly administer $1.5 billion through the State Rental Assistance Program for those residents that live outside the city limits of Stockton.

 

City of Stockton Residential Evictions Moratorium Extended

On June 9, 2020, the City of Stockton extended the residential evictions moratorium.

 

Additional Resources

Contact the following agencies for additional resources:

 

 

Foreclosure Prevention Information

Foreclosed homeForeclosure is a legal process by which the lender or the seller of a property forces the sale of a mortgaged property because the borrower has not made payments or met the terms of the mortgage.  A foreclosure can also be defined as a repossession of the property by the lender.

 

The City of Stockton is concerned that too often, individuals purchase a home without sufficient consideration or understanding of their loan agreements and mortgage responsibilities.

 

Therefore, we are expanding our efforts to educate the public on the dangers of predatory lending, the importance of maintaining a household budget, and the alternatives to foreclosure.

 

Foreclosure Prevention Tips

  • Don't hide or ignore the situation.
  • Contact your lender as soon as you know you're going to miss a payment.
  • Know what options are available to you.  There are many options besides foreclosure.
  • Stay in your home and find out if you qualify for other assistance.
  • Contact a non-profit housing counselor to review your situation.
  • Don't sign anything you don't understand.
  • Beware of Predatory Lending.
  • If you have to sell your home, do a background credit check on your buyer.
  • Develop and maintain a household budget.
  • Understand your credit and how to use it wisely.  A foreclosure notice can lower your credit score for up to 7 years.

 

Reporting Mortgage Fraud

If you suspect that you have been a victim of mortgage fraud or are aware of a possible scam, you can report it by calling the Mortgage Fraud Hotline, 1-800-4FRAUD8 (1-800-437-2838).  You can also contact the California Attorney General's office at 1-916-445-9555.

 

Lenders and Agencies

The first step to owning a home or protecting your investment is becoming informed of your options and alternatives. Please take a moment to look through the Housing Division's resource listings. 

 

Lenders

  • All American Mortgage - (209) 579-3600
  • Bank of America - (800) 846-2222
  • California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA) - (800) 669-1079
  • Chase Home Finance - (800) 848-9316
  • Citimortgage - (800) 374-8814
  • HSBC Mortgage Corporation - (800) 338-6441
  • Wells Fargo Mortgage - (800) 766-0987

 

Agencies

  • California Rural Legal Assistance - (209) 946-0605
  • Clearpoint Credit Counseling Solutions - (800) 750-2227
  • National Foreclosure Hotline - (888) 995-HOPE
  • NID-HCA - (209) 952-8806
  • Sacramento Neighborhood Housing Services, Inc. - (209) 473-4363
  • Visionary Home Builders of California - (209) 466-6811
  • US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) - (800) 569-4287

Other Housing Related Agencies

  • Housing Authority of San Joaquin County -  (209) 460-5000
  • San Joaquin Fair Housing Association -  (209) 451-3471
  • Women's Center of San Joaquin County -  (209) 941-2611
  • SJC Neighborhood Preservation Office - (209) 468-3021
  • Stockton Shelter for the Homeless - (209) 466-2605

 

External Links


California Rural Legal Assistance

Clearpoint Credit Counseling Solutions

Davis-Bacon Labor Standards

Visionary Home Builders of California

US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)

Housing Authority of San Joaquin County

San Joaquin  Fair Housing Association

Women's Center Youth and Family Services

This City of Stockton web page last reviewed on --- 8/1/2022